I did not run a backup before I did the restore, because the restore is supposed to prompt me to backup the phone.
Guess what iTunes decided I didn't need and went straight into the Restore, with no way for me to cancel?
I lost all the weight & cycle information I've been keeping for quite a long time. I have pre-2010 cycle information on a calendar, but I'm not really inclined to go back and add them all back into my phone - yet again.
And I still need to get all my apps & contacts back on the phone.
So very annoyed right now.
ETA: Annoyance not quite so high anymore. When I restored Monthly Cycles onto my phone - all the data came with it. Thank Elath. I did not want to lose that data.
The notes I lost... they're still lost. Problematic, but not a killer.